World Globe

Fulbright awards more than 8,000 grants annually, including 2,000 awards to faculty, language teachers and administrative professionals.

The Fulbright Program, the United States government’s flagship program for international education and cultural exchange, offers passionate and accomplished students and scholars in more than 160 countries the opportunity to study, teach, conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to mutual understanding. These talented Fulbrighters from all backgrounds inspire, innovate and contribute to finding solutions to challenges facing our communities and our world.

Please note: Information on this page is intended for faculty and staff. Students who wish to apply for the Fulbright Student Program should contact the Office of Prestigious Awards & Fellowships.

Fulbright Scholar Program

Outgoing Scholars

If you are a current Embry-Riddle faculty or staff member interested in applying for a Fulbright award, we encourage you to begin the process as soon as possible. There are many awards to choose from, and a well-thought-out application can take weeks or even months to complete. Connect with the Fulbright Scholar Program as soon as possible to see which program may be right for you, get tips about the application process, and begin growing your support network.

Incoming Scholars

If you are a visiting scholar who is interested in joining Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University as a Fulbright Scholar, please contact the liaison for your primary campus of interest:

Award Benefits

The Fulbright Program offers highly prestigious and widely sought-after awards to students and scholars/professionals, U.S. citizens and non-U.S. citizens. It is very much intended to be mutually beneficial to individuals, their host countries, and institutions.

The Fulbright Program connects 130+ countries worldwide and is supported by the U.S. Department of State. The program is committed to providing opportunities for everyone on a fair, equitable and inclusive playing field.

Additional benefits:

  • The Fulbright Scholar Program is fully supportive throughout the application process. An estimated 70% of applicants engage with IIE staff before ever submitting an application.
  • Continued support from the Institute of International Education (IIE) and the host country while scholars are in the country.
  • Broader and more diverse publishing networks with increased visibility.
  • Access to thousands of Fulbright alumni as a resource.
  • Become more multicultural professionally and personally.
  • Family and dependents are welcome to join you. Note: Not all awards will provide financial benefits for dependents.


2025-2026 Application Cycle

The 2025-2026 application cycle is now open. The deadline to apply for most awards is September 15, 2024. IIE will notify candidates about final application decisions by June 2025.

2024-2025 Application Cycle

The 2024-2025 application cycle closed in September 2023. IIE will notify candidates about final application decisions by June 2024.

Fulbright Specialist Program

A two- to six-week, project-based Fulbright award for faculty or university staff with a background in one of the following disciplines: American Studies, Anthropology, Biology, Business Administration, Chemistry Education, Communications & Journalism, Computer Science & Information Technology, Economics, Education, Engineering Education, Environmental Science, Law, Library Science, Math Education, Peace & Conflict Resolution Studies, Physics Education, Political Science and others.

If chosen as a Fulbright Specialist, you would apply your expertise to a diverse selection of host-designed projects, including but not limited to:

  • Delivering seminars, trainings or workshops.
  • Providing lectures at both the graduate and undergraduate level.
  • Serving as a consultant for strategic and institutional planning projects.
  • Developing academic/training materials and curricula.
  • Serving as an evaluator for a program or institution.

Working alongside hosts such as:

  • International colleges and universities
  • Government ministries
  • Cultural institutions
  • Non-government organizations
  • Public health organizations
  • Medical clinics and hospitals

For more information, visit the Fulbright Specialist Program website.

Embry-Riddle Fulbright Scholars and Alumni

  • 2023-24 – Shawn Milrad, Meteorology, University of Bergen, Norway
  • 2022-23 – Tamilla Curtis, Travel/Tourism, University of the Bahamas, Bahamas
  • 2019-20 – Vitaly Guzhva, Accounting/Finance, University College Dublin, Ireland
  • 2019-20 – Massoud Bazargan, Informational Sciences/Systems, Eskisehir Technical University, Turkey
  • 2018-19 – William Lahneman, International Relations, King Juan Carlos University, Spain
  • 2018-19 – Vedapuri Raghavan, Business, University of Bahrain, Bahrain
  • 2015-16 – Anatoly Streltsov, Physical Sciences, Institute of Space Techniques and Technology, Kazakhstan
  • 2015-16 – Harihar Khanal, Mathematics, Tribhuvan University, Nepal
  • 2013-14 – Brian Butka, Engineering, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • 2012-13 – Gulamabas Sivjee, Physical Sciences, Bhavnagar University, India
  • 2012-13 – Soumia Ichoua, Engineering, University of Applied Sciences Emden/Leer, Germany
  • 2011-12 – Lance Erickson, Physical Sciences, National Aviation University, Ukraine
  • 1995-96 – Andrew Kornecki, Computer Science, Academy of Mining and Metallurgy, Poland
  • 1991-92 – Robert Hamwey, Physics, Aleppo University, Syria
  • 1990-91 – Robert Hamwey, Physics, Aleppo University, Syria
  • 1984-85 – Robert King, Language, Polytechnical Institute, Romania
  • 2023-24 – Jules O. Yimga, Economics, Estonian Aviation Academy, Estonia
  • 2007-08 – Pauline Filemoni, Education, German Fulbright Commission, Germany
  • 2006-07 – Nicholas Devereux, Physics, National University of Ireland-Galway, Ireland
  • 2005-06 – Peter Ragan, Linguistics, Teacher’s Center, Ilan County, Taiwan
  • 2002-03 – Andrew Fraher, Education, German Fulbright Commission, Germany
  • 1993-94 – Peter Quigley, Literature, University of Bergen, Norway
  • 1992-93 – Peter Quigley, Literature, University of Bergen, Norway
  • 1992-93 – Stephen Glassman, Writing, University College of Belize, Belize
  • 1992-93 – Robert Stearns, Education, Moscow Institute of New Technologies, Russia
  • 2023-24 – Marie Lathers, Literature, University of Suor Ursola Benincasa, Italy
  • 2018-19 – Narcrischa Norman, Engineering, The University of Trinidad and Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
  • 2020-21 – Anisa Vahed, Education, from Durban University of Technology, South Africa